THE LARGEST BMW 2-SERIES FORUM ON THE PLANET
2Addicts
2Addicts
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts
2Addicts | BMW 2-Series forum BMW 2 Series (F22) Forum BMW 2 Series Coupe and Cabriolet (F22/F23) General Forum LSD for the M235i: a non-racing driver's question

01-07-2015, 05:27 AM   #1
moldcad
Major
Poland
Rep
Drives: M235i

LSD for the M235i: a non-racing driver's question

So, I've made up my mind and have an M235i on order (was debating between that and the 435i, and decided that even coming from an F10, the 4 is still too large for my specific purposes).

Now seeking advise on whether to spend some of the money I saved by not buying the 435i on the LSD. I'm a sporty driver (I think getting rid of otherwise great, but for me - underpowered, 528xi can give you the idea of the way I like to drive), and for over 43 year now - with the exception of the last 2 years - I've been driving RWD cars. Only the last one of those (my old good E46 330i) offered the now obvious electronic "nannies" (and not just the obvious ones like DSC/DTC, but also brake-based e-diff); with my previous RWD cars everything was being taken care of by myself (I do hope I still have the reflexes and muscle memory I learned then).

However - even with e-diff - I remember embarrassing moments when I just couldn't move my 330i from a standstill (like at traffic lights) when both rear wheels were standing on ice (additionally, I didn't have a clutch with that one - it featured the infamous SMG gearbox - so I couldn't use the traditional way of rocking the car and getting it out of being stuck).

My M235i is going to be a SAT car (I did think of a "full return to the basics" and ordering 6MT, but after surgeries my right arm is so weak I can't use it for shifting for too long without a serious fatigue, so I've given up on that; this means no traditional clutch again ).