THE LARGEST BMW 2-SERIES FORUM ON THE PLANET
2Addicts
2Addicts
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts
2Addicts | BMW 2-Series forum BMW 2 Series (F22) Forum 2 Series Pricing, Ordering, European Delivery Buying first new car. 228i Northern NJ

12-22-2014, 09:57 PM   #1
2yo
Private
Rep
Drives: '15 228i xDrive

Buying first new car. 228i Northern NJ

Hi guys. Just signed up for the forum as I will be buying my new 228i around late February of 2015. As a 24 year old, this will be my first new car purchase. I finished my Master's degree in May, have been working for a while and saving over the past 3 years. Now it's finally come time to get myself that present that I have been waiting for. I am not up to speed with the whole ordering/allocations concept. I have been checking dealerships around me (Northern NJ) and most have 1 or 2 228i's on the lot max and aren't exactly the spec that I want. Can anybody explain this a concept a little more, as I most likely will have to order and wait for the car however long?

I most likely will be going with the base model (not too much into paying the extra money for the sport line or msport as the differences don't really appeal to me) along with some packages. I'm looking at premium, tech, cold weather, and driver assistance as the packages in my car, as this would be my daily driver and only car. Anybody have advice on what packages are more essential and what you can do without? What's worth it and what's not in your experience? This is the first BMW I will ever own.

With all that said and with the bmw configurator pricing the msrp of the above car and packages at $39,950 before destination, what is a good guesstimation (thank you Mrs. Bohlen, my 5th grade math teacher) for the amount I could expect to pay after negotiation with the dealer? Any recommended dealers in the area that people have experience with?

Phew. That was a lot. Thanks and sorry for the long post.
Appreciate 0
      12-22-2014, 10:02 PM   #2
jbost002