THE LARGEST BMW 2-SERIES FORUM ON THE PLANET
2Addicts
2Addicts
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
2Addicts | BMW 2-Series forum Technical Topics Cosmetic Maintenance (Wash/Wax/Detailing/Exterior Restoration & Repairs) F22 M240i Wash Process Video

06-11-2020, 10:33 AM   #1
rfranklin
Enlisted Member
Rep
Drives: No fun car right now

F22 M240i Wash Process Video

Decided to start a YouTube channel not too long ago. I'm still learning how to film/edit, so it's by no means fancy. Either way, here's the latest video showing how I wash my 2019 M240i.

Appreciate 5
Maynard3804.50
harry.h65.50
nazali1264.50
      06-20-2020, 11:36 AM   #2
Maynard
Colonel
United_States
Rep
Drives: 228iX & M2C

Cool video, I'll have to check out your others; that ceramic coat gives a fantastic gloss. You are just down the road from me, perhaps I'll see you at a GVC meet, if things ever open up. A couple of suggestions from my routine, perhaps unnecessary if you have the ceramic coat (I try to clear the worst crap before using the mitt):
- good to use 2 bucket system ; I use a 3rd with just a little water for the wheels since it gets so gritty.
- wash inner wheel wells after wheels
- knock off the worst dirt from the lower areas and don't get it on your nice mitt;
use a separate rag/mitt to wash rockers and wheel arches; door sills (engine compartment if I'm really thorough), rear lower bumper, front and mirror bugzones;
then do top-down (roof, hood/trunk, sides). Long linear strokes, no swirling.
- If I'm in hot sun (usually) I need to rinse each area, or it will dry the soap on.
- I learned that, in the winter, latex exam gloves work like a wetsuit and keep you from getting frostbite (you do continue this through the winter so your neighbors know you are totally nuts, right? ).
Appreciate 0
      06-20-2020, 12:27 PM   #3
rfranklin
Enlisted Member
Rep

Quote:
Originally Posted by Maynard View Post