THE LARGEST BMW 2-SERIES FORUM ON THE PLANET
2Addicts
2Addicts
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
2Addicts | BMW 2-Series forum Technical Topics Navigation, iDrive, Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Phone, Cameras, Electronics The "Official" F22 OBD2 wireless adapter / Android+Torque / iPhone+DashCommand thread

Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      07-30-2015, 02:33 AM   #133
BarryJI
Captain
BarryJI's Avatar
United_States
424
Rep
980
Posts

Drives: 2015 BMW 228i M Sport
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: United States

iTrader: (0)

wjones14, could you do me a huge favor and explain to me how you got an oil temp guage to show up in DashCommand? I do not see one in the default guage set and I cannot figure out how to get one. Huge thanks in anticipation.

(Of course, I may well be one of those people whose ECU just doesn't output oil temps to DashCommand. I have a 2015 228i N26).
__________________

2015 BMW 228i M Sport w/Track Handling Package
DAP | Lighting | Premium | Tech
DINANTRONICS Performance Tuner Stage 1 | DINAN Shockware | DINAN Free Flow Exhaust | DINAN Performance Spring Set + Ride Quality and Handling Kit
Appreciate 0
      08-01-2015, 06:04 PM   #134
wjones14
Captain
wjones14's Avatar
645
Rep
884
Posts

Drives: 2021 M2C
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Niantic CT

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by BarryJI View Post
wjones14, could you do me a huge favor and explain to me how you got an oil temp guage to show up in DashCommand? I do not see one in the default guage set and I cannot figure out how to get one. Huge thanks in anticipation.

(Of course, I may well be one of those people whose ECU just doesn't output oil temps to DashCommand. I have a 2015 228i N26).
  1. Press the Gauges button
  2. Tap near the top of the screen and Press the Edit option when it appears
  3. Press the Add Gauge option at the bottom
  4. On the Edit Quick Gauge screen, press the Needle PID option under PID
  5. Under Name press the SAE.RPM value
  6. You should see a list of PID categories. Choose Temperature
  7. The Engine Oil Temperature PID is SAE.EOT. Choose that.

That's the hard part. The name of the gauge will be Quick Gauge, so change it to Oil Temp. Then set your low and high ranges. I went with 0-300. That's the basics.

Dash Command doesn't really prompt you in an intuitive way to add the PID, and even after that, it has no idea of the range, so it's like 0-3000 or something.

Hope that helps!
__________________
Vehicles: 2021 Alpine White M2C 6MT; 2011 Kawasaki Z1000 (1/4 mile 10.3 seconds @ 129 mph - stock)
Previous: 2018 Camaro 2SS 1LE 6MT; 2015 BMW M235i 6MT; 2015 Mini Cooper F56 6MT; 2005 Mustang GT 5MT; 2003 Mini Cooper R50 5MT
Appreciate 0
      08-02-2015, 01:47 PM   #135
wjones14
Captain
wjones14's Avatar
645
Rep
884
Posts

Drives: 2021 M2C
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Niantic CT

iTrader: (0)

Updated screenshot of Dash Command on an iPod Touch 5th gen. I edited the gauges to both look the same. This is after running the car around town for about 15 minutes on a beautiful 81 degree day. The coolant temperature cycles from 225 to about 165 and then gradually back up again - I guess the thermostat opens when it's about 225? And the oil temperature seems to stay more consistent.
Attached Images
 
__________________
Vehicles: 2021 Alpine White M2C 6MT; 2011 Kawasaki Z1000 (1/4 mile 10.3 seconds @ 129 mph - stock)
Previous: 2018 Camaro 2SS 1LE 6MT; 2015 BMW M235i 6MT; 2015 Mini Cooper F56 6MT; 2005 Mustang GT 5MT; 2003 Mini Cooper R50 5MT
Appreciate 0
      08-05-2015, 08:22 PM   #136
Chr2004
Enlisted Member
3
Rep
29
Posts

Drives: 2014 M235i BSM/CR
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Wilmington NC

iTrader: (0)

I've tried both OBD Fusion and Dash Command and neither of them support the oil temp PID for my car. Build date 03/2014. I'm out of ideas apart from a P3 gauge or new steering wheel. Sad really.
Appreciate 0
      08-11-2015, 09:38 PM   #137
Hu lisi
Registered
0
Rep
1
Posts

Drives: BMWX3
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Middle of somewhere

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by wjones14 View Post
I bought this mini OBD2 Wi-Fi adapter (IKKEGOL 10308BOR Vgate iCar 2 Mini OBD2 Wi-Fi) from amazon to use with an iPod Touch 5th generation:

http://www.amazon.com/IKKEGOL-10308B...HSFE60Y1YZ4HXW

I paired this adapter with the Dash Command iOS app ($10) and have been using it for a week or so. Pros and Cons of the OBD2 adapter and the Dash Command app:

Pros:
  1. Dash Command connects to the adapter's wi-fi signal every time
  2. There are a wealth of M235i PIDs recognized by Dash Command - too many to list
  3. The OBD2 adapter is tiny and totally non-intrusive
  4. No lost connections so far
  5. The iCar OBD2 adapter automatically goes to sleep 30 minutes after ignition is shut off
  6. The iCar OBD2 adapter has an on/off power switch

Cons:
  1. The iCar OBD2 adapter instructions are hideously translated
  2. Dash Command is not intuitive at first, and user manual is sketchy

The main reason I bought the adapter and app were because of the lack of coolant and oil temp gauges in the car. Mission accomplished as you can see in the iPod Touch screenshot.

I am still learning how to use Dash Command, as you can also see in the screenshot. The coolant temp gauge was already part of the default gauge screen. I think there were 6 gauges on the screen, but not the oil temp, so I removed all the others except the coolant temp gauge, resized it, and then added the oil temp gauge. I will make both gauges the same size, and possibly add the color markings on the dial for green and red, once I figure out how to do it... The good news is that there is a dedicated forum where the developers answer questions directly.

I definitely am pleased with this purchase. All that's left is to decide what type of mount I want to use - for now I just stand the iPod up in the cup holder and it's actually fine there.
Thanks for your Info bro, could you pm me your email? I want to ask you some questions in private.
Appreciate 0
      08-22-2015, 03:14 PM   #138
Michall
Second Lieutenant
United_States
94
Rep
244
Posts

Drives: 15 M235i
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Roselle, IL

iTrader: (1)

OBDLink MX Bluetooth+Smart View+Dashcommand. Everything works great

Appreciate 0
      08-22-2015, 08:13 PM   #139
Supernaut
Little Deuce Coupe
Supernaut's Avatar
United_States
391
Rep
635
Posts

Drives: SO M2C
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Virginia Beach

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michall View Post
OBDLink MX Bluetooth+Smart View+Dashcommand. Everything works great

Is Smartview somehow allowing you to mirror to the screen or is that a mirroring unit?
__________________
ex: 2004 Thermonuclear Yellow RX-8|6MT
ex: 2015 Estoril Blue M235i |6MT|slicktop|MP exhaust - PCD
2020 Sunset Orange M2C|6MT|Black 788s
Appreciate 0
      09-09-2015, 07:02 PM   #140
MikeDee
ChiLLaXin'
MikeDee's Avatar
United_States
31
Rep
41
Posts

Drives: 2015 BMW M235i
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Omaha, NE

iTrader: (0)

All set up, thanks! Can you please take a screenshot of the driver profile with all the proper inputs?
Appreciate 0
      10-25-2015, 02:20 AM   #141
VIDoug
Private
VIDoug's Avatar
Canada
6
Rep
75
Posts

Drives: 2015 228i MSport,THP, PP
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Vancouver Island

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2015 BMW 228i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blackcross View Post
Thx.

I'll be seeing my buddy on Friday. he's a mechanic so we'll see if we can get a reading from the ECU and determine if there is a custom PID.
FYI -- I installed RioRand RD9 OBD 2 dongle on my Feb 2015 build 228i and have had good success with Torque on my Moto G 2 Android phone -- including Oil Temp display.

Ordered from amazon.ca
__________________
VIDoug Vancouver Island
2015 228i MSport, THP, PP, MG
Appreciate 0
      10-28-2015, 11:56 AM   #142
bp-plickner
Second Lieutenant
bp-plickner's Avatar
United_States
37
Rep
265
Posts

Drives: Mineral Grey M235i
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Tucson

iTrader: (0)

I got the iKEGOL iCar WiFi version and am using it with an Ipod touch 5 with Dash Command in my M235i. I made a couple of quick gauges. It works!

Name:  L1000143_cr.jpg
Views: 3791
Size:  129.1 KB

Appreciate 0
      01-29-2016, 07:29 PM   #143
P7X
Lieutenant
P7X's Avatar
United_States
70
Rep
527
Posts

Drives: 2016 M235i 6MT
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Colorado

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Michall View Post
OBDLink MX Bluetooth+Smart View+Dashcommand. Everything works great

Nice! how'd you do that?
Appreciate 0
      01-29-2016, 07:40 PM   #144
Zooks527
Captain
310
Rep
886
Posts

Drives: 2015 M235xi / 2005 Tacoma 4x4
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Mansfield, MA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by P7X View Post
Nice! how'd you do that?
He was selling that setup here: http://www.2addicts.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1174531
__________________
2015 M235xi coupe, Black Sapphire Metallic, Black Leather, Fineline Stream trim, Steptronic, xDrive, ZPP, ZTP, ZCW, ZDA, ZDB, 5DP, hk w/BimmerTech amp, Enhanced BT

Prior 40 years: 67 BelAir wagon / 68 LeMans Tempest / 70 Mustang Mach 1 / 72 El Dorado / 78 Corvette / 81 Subaru GL wagon 4WD / 83 s10 Blazer 4x4 / 85 Bronco 4x4 / 96 Bronco 4x4 / 04 Passat 4mo / 09 BMW 335xi
Appreciate 0
      01-29-2016, 08:05 PM   #145
P7X
Lieutenant
P7X's Avatar
United_States
70
Rep
527
Posts

Drives: 2016 M235i 6MT
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Colorado

iTrader: (0)

thanks
Appreciate 0
      02-11-2016, 07:35 AM   #146
BentZero
Lieutenant Colonel
BentZero's Avatar
United_States
624
Rep
1,753
Posts

Drives: 6MT Mineral White M235i
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Charleston, SC

iTrader: (2)

Man, not sure how I missed this thread, but this is pretty sweet. I'm trying to decide between the iSaddle and BAFX bluetooth adapters. Can someone explain what the differences are? Thanks.
__________________
I rev-match from neutral to first

6MT Mineral White on black M235i coupe
Build thread
Appreciate 0
      02-15-2016, 03:04 AM   #147
Cloud IX
Lieutenant
122
Rep
444
Posts

Drives: Quickest Stock Turbo F8X
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Sky

iTrader: (4)

No idea about the BAFX but I've been using the iSaddle for a while now. Works perfectly.
__________________
Quickest Stock Turbo F8x In The World
Appreciate 0
      02-15-2016, 12:26 PM   #148
simoneves
First Lieutenant
United_States
88
Rep
300
Posts

Drives: '16 228i DSB/THP/6MT
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: San Rafael, CA, USA

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by BarryJI
wjones14, could you do me a huge favor and explain to me how you got an oil temp guage to show up in DashCommand? I do not see one in the default guage set and I cannot figure out how to get one. Huge thanks in anticipation.

(Of course, I may well be one of those people whose ECU just doesn't output oil temps to DashCommand. I have a 2015 228i N26).
@BarryJI , did you ever get this working. I am using DashCommand on an iPhone 6 with an Automatic OBD2 adapter on my 7/15-build 2016 N20 228i and oil temp works fine (or seems to - to be honest I didn't look closely until today)...

[IMG]https://www.dropbox.com/s/kjdcrxecex...%2021%20AM.png[/IMG]

(note that I selected Celcius as the data, but scaled the gauge as if it was Fahrenheit, which is why it only reads 90)

Last edited by simoneves; 02-16-2016 at 01:44 AM..
Appreciate 0
      02-27-2016, 12:03 PM   #149
Wheelwright
Captain
Wheelwright's Avatar
Canada
463
Rep
778
Posts

Drives: M235i (6MT fakerich edition)
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Canada, Oak Ridges

iTrader: (0)

How do you setup 30 - 50 mph acceleration in Torque Pro (or any other ODBD2 app) ?

In this way your acceleration can be compared to results found in magazines like autoexpress.co.uk (they always test 30 - 50 mph in 3rd and 4th gears).
Appreciate 0
      03-13-2016, 03:42 PM   #150
BentZero
Lieutenant Colonel
BentZero's Avatar
United_States
624
Rep
1,753
Posts

Drives: 6MT Mineral White M235i
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Charleston, SC

iTrader: (2)

Another vote for Bluetooth iSaddle. I have a 2016 M235i. I'm using Torque on my wife's old Samsung Galaxy S4. I'm able to get oil temps in both the engine parameters list as well as the engine oil temp gauge. I liked that I could get a digital speed gauge too, but I've since coded my car and now get digital speed in BC. Overall I'm pretty happy with it. I leave it plugged in at all times and haven't had any battery issues. If I decide to keep this permanently I'll need to run a USB cable through the air vent for charging. For now I just detach the phone from the magnetic mount and charge it that way. I may replace the phone with a black one though to go with the interior a bit more.
Attached Images
 
__________________
I rev-match from neutral to first

6MT Mineral White on black M235i coupe
Build thread
Appreciate 0
      03-13-2016, 04:58 PM   #151
Zooks527
Captain
310
Rep
886
Posts

Drives: 2015 M235xi / 2005 Tacoma 4x4
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Mansfield, MA

iTrader: (0)

Or just put a ScanGauge under the headlight control.

Does it have a real 70s J.C.Whitney feel? Sure. However, no one but the driver can see it, the left 2 columns are visible to the driver all the time, it's not there in the middle of your dash acting as a magnet for some kid to break your window, and your wife won't spend any time chewing your ass for blocking her vent in the summertime.

You're also not broadcasting an unprotected Bluetooth link into your ECU whenever your car is running.
Attached Images
  
__________________
2015 M235xi coupe, Black Sapphire Metallic, Black Leather, Fineline Stream trim, Steptronic, xDrive, ZPP, ZTP, ZCW, ZDA, ZDB, 5DP, hk w/BimmerTech amp, Enhanced BT

Prior 40 years: 67 BelAir wagon / 68 LeMans Tempest / 70 Mustang Mach 1 / 72 El Dorado / 78 Corvette / 81 Subaru GL wagon 4WD / 83 s10 Blazer 4x4 / 85 Bronco 4x4 / 96 Bronco 4x4 / 04 Passat 4mo / 09 BMW 335xi

Last edited by Zooks527; 03-13-2016 at 05:06 PM..
Appreciate 0
      03-13-2016, 06:46 PM   #152
BentZero
Lieutenant Colonel
BentZero's Avatar
United_States
624
Rep
1,753
Posts

Drives: 6MT Mineral White M235i
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Charleston, SC

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zooks527 View Post
Or just put a ScanGauge under the headlight control.

Does it have a real 70s J.C.Whitney feel? Sure. However, no one but the driver can see it, the left 2 columns are visible to the driver all the time, it's not there in the middle of your dash acting as a magnet for some kid to break your window, and your wife won't spend any time chewing your ass for blocking her vent in the summertime.

You're also not broadcasting an unprotected Bluetooth link into your ECU whenever your car is running.
That would block the compartment that I keep my sunglasses in. Also, it's a magnetic mount. Super simple to take down if I'm in a sketchy area or if wifie is with me. Both are rare occasions since we take her merc.
Appreciate 0
      03-13-2016, 07:04 PM   #153
Zooks527
Captain
310
Rep
886
Posts

Drives: 2015 M235xi / 2005 Tacoma 4x4
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Mansfield, MA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by BentZero View Post
That would block the compartment that I keep my sunglasses in. Also, it's a magnetic mount. Super simple to take down if I'm in a sketchy area or if wifie is with me. Both are rare occasions since we take her merc.
Completely open Bluetooth access to your ECU, any time the engine is on and for 20 minutes after.

I've had BT OBD adapters for my cars for years. Very useful for logging and debugging. Nothing I'd ever leave plugged in all the time.
__________________
2015 M235xi coupe, Black Sapphire Metallic, Black Leather, Fineline Stream trim, Steptronic, xDrive, ZPP, ZTP, ZCW, ZDA, ZDB, 5DP, hk w/BimmerTech amp, Enhanced BT

Prior 40 years: 67 BelAir wagon / 68 LeMans Tempest / 70 Mustang Mach 1 / 72 El Dorado / 78 Corvette / 81 Subaru GL wagon 4WD / 83 s10 Blazer 4x4 / 85 Bronco 4x4 / 96 Bronco 4x4 / 04 Passat 4mo / 09 BMW 335xi
Appreciate 0
      03-13-2016, 07:53 PM   #154
simoneves
First Lieutenant
United_States
88
Rep
300
Posts

Drives: '16 228i DSB/THP/6MT
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: San Rafael, CA, USA

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zooks527
Quote:
Originally Posted by BentZero View Post
That would block the compartment that I keep my sunglasses in. Also, it's a magnetic mount. Super simple to take down if I'm in a sketchy area or if wifie is with me. Both are rare occasions since we take her merc.
Completely open Bluetooth access to your ECU, any time the engine is on and for 20 minutes after.

I've had BT OBD adapters for my cars for years. Very useful for logging and debugging. Nothing I'd ever leave plugged in all the time.
I use an Automatic, and it has a code printed on the side which I had to enter when registering it with their own app, and I'm pretty sure I had to use that login to register it with DashCommand too. Does that qualify as "closed"...?
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:55 AM.




2addicts
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST