THE LARGEST BMW 2-SERIES FORUM ON THE PLANET
2Addicts
2Addicts
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
2Addicts | BMW 2-Series forum Technical Topics Suspension | Chassis | Brakes swapping street and track pads

06-07-2020, 06:41 AM   #1
smchuck
Private First Class
Rep
Drives: BMW 230i

swapping street and track pads

I’m upgrading my 230i from stock calipers to the brembo sport brakes.

The question I have and Looking for your opinion is I’m thinking of getting a normal set of street pads and a set of track pads that are reasonable for the street. I’d put the track/street pads on at beginning of track season then keep them on until end of season. After the track season is over I’d switch back to normal street pads. The alternative is to swap pads before and after every track day.

Any thoughts or advice on these two options? I'm a novice tracker and do 2-4 track days per season.

Thanks
Appreciate 0
      06-07-2020, 08:13 AM   #2
4Hockey4
Banned
Rep
Drives: Pinto

Quote:
Originally Posted by smchuck View Post
I’m upgrading my 230i from stock calipers to the brembo sport brakes.

The question I have and Looking for your opinion is I’m thinking of getting a normal set of street pads and a set of track pads that are reasonable for the street. I’d put the track/street pads on at beginning of track season then keep them on until end of season. After the track season is over I’d switch back to normal street pads. The alternative is to swap pads before and after every track day.

Any thoughts or advice on these two options? I'm a novice tracker and do 2-4 track days per season.

Thanks
I'd read the brake pad thread. esp last page or so where folks were helping me with same process.
Appreciate 0
      06-07-2020, 02:55 PM   #3
Maynard
Colonel
United_States
Rep
Drives: 228iX & M2C