THE LARGEST BMW 2-SERIES FORUM ON THE PLANET
2Addicts
2Addicts
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
2Addicts | BMW 2-Series forum Technical Topics N20 (228i) / B46 (230i) Engine, Transmission, Exhaust, Tuning Is the Clutch Delay Valve ruining my clutch

05-03-2022, 08:56 AM   #1
morriscat
Private
Rep
Drives: BMW F22

Is the Clutch Delay Valve ruining my clutch

I have a 2016 228i 6MT and I'm having a recurring problem with the clutch and since the Dealership can't (or won't) help, I'm hoping maybe you guys can.

Here's the deal. I've been driving stick for thirty years, I've put 100k+ on more than one manual car and I have NEVER had a clutch burn out on me. I don't track it. I don't launch it. I don't ride the clutch. Almost all of my driving is highway, and YET, I've had two clutch failures in 18 months.

The car came to me with 16k miles on it. The first clutch failure happened at 25k, I took it to the dealership and their response was basically "Loln00b, lrn2stick" and then they charged me five grand for a new clutch and a new DMF.

Here we are 18 months and 15k miles later and it's failed AGAIN, exactly the same way. I took it back to the same dealership for two reasons: First I was hoping that they might actually believe me that there's an underlying issue instead of just taking the easy route of "well the previous owner must have burned it all up before you got it", and the DMF at the very least has a two year warranty so they can't soak me for THAT again.

But they still can't tell me what's burning the clutch up, other than the standard "Are you SURE you don't rest your foot on the clutch when you're driving?". Which, I mean... who does that? Nobody. Nobody does that.