THE LARGEST BMW 2-SERIES FORUM ON THE PLANET
2Addicts
2Addicts
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
2Addicts | BMW 2-Series forum Technical Topics DIY and Coding Discussions M235i temperature on kombi questions

Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      06-16-2022, 09:56 AM   #1
AbnormallyAspirated
Private First Class
AbnormallyAspirated's Avatar
12
Rep
116
Posts

Drives: 2016 M235i 6-Speed Convertible
Join Date: Oct 2021
Location: Rochester, NY

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
M235i temperature on kombi questions

Hi:

I have a 2016 F23 with the basic combi (small central LCD, 4 analog needles)

I'm trying to figure out if/how I can get temp display on the Instrument Cluster (not interested in 3rd party gauges or phone apps). Looking for anyone that KNOWS (speculation is not helpful):
a) Can I get temp display on the kombi I have, through coding? Reading other threads, it looks like I can turn on the temp display, but it will not show a value - is there any coding that can be done to turn on the signal to the kombi?
b) If I switch to a 2014-2016 pre-LCI mid cluster (the one with the digital display behind the efficiency gauge, does that change anything?
c) If I switch to an LCI cluster, does that change anything?
d)what am I missing - is there any way to di it with a 2016 kombi?

Thanks! PS: I have bimmercode and e-sys.

Dave

Last edited by AbnormallyAspirated; 06-16-2022 at 12:12 PM..
Appreciate 0
      06-16-2022, 12:09 PM   #2
freakystyly
Major
1227
Rep
1,016
Posts

Drives: F22 B58 6MT hut hut
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Ontario

iTrader: (0)

Not available through coding, only through the existing "hidden" menu. You'll have to search for the step by step to access it.
Appreciate 0
      06-16-2022, 12:11 PM   #3
AbnormallyAspirated
Private First Class
AbnormallyAspirated's Avatar
12
Rep
116
Posts

Drives: 2016 M235i 6-Speed Convertible
Join Date: Oct 2021
Location: Rochester, NY

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by freakystyly View Post
Not available through coding, only through the existing "hidden" menu. You'll have to search for the step by step to access it.
I know how to access the hidden menu, but not what I'm looking for.

So you are saying even with the LCI dash, I cannot get any temp measurement? are you 100% certain? that differs from other things I've read.
Appreciate 0
      06-16-2022, 12:33 PM   #4
freakystyly
Major
1227
Rep
1,016
Posts

Drives: F22 B58 6MT hut hut
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Ontario

iTrader: (0)

Ah, sorry, I didn't dig far enough into researching other kombi systems. I only know basically as much as you wrote.

I used protools to dabble around but wasn't successful with my pre-lci mid cluster.
Appreciate 0
      06-21-2022, 01:25 AM   #5
jkoljo
Private
27
Rep
66
Posts

Drives: M235i
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: CA & Finland

iTrader: (0)

Since it's available through coding, but showing zero, I feel like it's looking for a specific CAN message. Engine oil temp is being broadcasted in PT-CAN in my 2014 M235i. Maybe we can find what CAN ID the cluster is looking for, and make an emulator. I remember there were some successful efforts in hacking the E90 cluster CAN IDs..

Maybe the first thing to try would be to broadcast the 1D0 engine status (oil temp+others) message of E90 and see what our cluster thinks about it. F22 M235i DME doesn't send that. Maybe BMW transitioned the DME message types and didn't bother to fully transition the cluster.
Appreciate 0
      06-23-2022, 02:08 AM   #6
SpencerC_6MT
Private First Class
United_States
96
Rep
103
Posts

Drives: EBM M240i 6MT
Join Date: May 2017
Location: California

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2017 BMW M240I  [0.00]
I was successfully able to bring up the same display as you, with the same gauge cluster in my pre-LCI M240i using Bimmercode. The problem, it appears, is that it's useless. As jkoljo mentioned, you can bring up the graphic but it's not actually tied to any inputs from the ECU. In all honesty, that little gauge is pretty lackluster from the get-go, considering it doesn't have separate coolant and oil temps, just the combined "engine temp". Instead of going through all the effort to put a square peg in a round hole, I'd rather just put a bit of cash aside for a P3 vent gauge, or LCI gauge cluster if you're into that.
Appreciate 0
      06-23-2022, 02:45 AM   #7
AbnormallyAspirated
Private First Class
AbnormallyAspirated's Avatar
12
Rep
116
Posts

Drives: 2016 M235i 6-Speed Convertible
Join Date: Oct 2021
Location: Rochester, NY

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
LCI cluster M235i?

Quote:
Originally Posted by watermelon3878 View Post
I'd rather just put a bit of cash aside for a P3 vent gauge, or LCI gauge cluster if you're into that.
I really don't want an add-in gauge of any kind.

Do we actually know that the LCI cluster will display temps in a M235i, when the pre-LCI won't? I wonder why/how that is the case.

Anyone with 1st hand experience can confirm?
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
cluster, gauge, instrument, m235i, temperature

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:16 AM.




2addicts
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST