THE LARGEST BMW 2-SERIES FORUM ON THE PLANET
2Addicts
2Addicts
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
2Addicts | BMW 2-Series forum Technical Topics Tracking / Autocrossing Maintenance checklist before first AutoX

04-19-2021, 05:54 PM   #1
daneagles
United_States
Rep
Drives: M235i

Maintenance checklist before first AutoX

Hi all, complete noob here who's looking to try AX for the first time after owning this car for a little over 2 years. I have a '15 RWD that is my daily driver, car is completely stock except for wheels and tires. I am running Apex FL-5 (18x8.5 ET35) wheels with a broken-in but otherwise barely used set of PS4S.

So far my current plan before the first event is new pads (what do people think of EBC Redstuff for DD + occasional autoX? I want street usability with a little more bite and reduced dust compared to OEM), brake fluid, and oil. I am not looking to modify the car for serious competition and lap times, just want to get any preventative maintenance out of the way first.

Is there anything else you would do before starting events? Car is only 37,xxx miles and primarily daily driven with a fair amount of spirited weekend drives, but 0 autoX/track miles so far. Again I'm a complete novice (first ever autoX/track in any car, not just this one) and just want to make sure I'm taking good care of the car. TIA
Appreciate 0
      04-20-2021, 12:29 PM   #2
TwoTonic
Enlisted Member
United_States
Rep
Drives: '14 M235i

IMHO, if your car is in good mechanical shape the only thing you need to check is your tire pressure (stock will be fine). If the current pads are good, no point in changing them for your first AX.

Best thing you can do is get there early and walk the course with some experienced folks. Not getting lost in the “sea of cones” is usually the biggest challenge for AX newbies.

Compared to track events, AX is not very demanding on the car. At least not at the beginning!