THE LARGEST BMW 2-SERIES FORUM ON THE PLANET
2Addicts
2Addicts
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts
2Addicts | BMW 2-Series forum BMW 2 Series (F22) Forum BMW 2 Series Coupe and Cabriolet (F22/F23) General Forum Ordered an 2018 and got a 2019 n/c

09-08-2018, 02:53 AM   #1
Rosseau
Private
United_States
Rep
Drives: 2019 M240i xdrive

Ordered an 2018 and got a 2019 n/c

Hopefully, I got someone's attention. But it's true. Placed order 4/30, took about 15 weeks; (supposedly) Leipzig made error, got delivery of 2019 M240i xdrive in late August.

Reason I'm posting is I've never owned a BMW. There is nothing I can offer this audience in return unless you've got roofing problems, as I am a consultant for GAF in North America. Well, here goes:

They sent me P7 A/S RTFs 225/40/18s all around. Tire Rack is selling them for $258 each, but all I read is bad on RTFs. I did take the tire/wheel insurance though.

BMW's Corporate Product/Tech guy seems adamant about not changing tires to non-RTFs. One of his reasons is suspension was tuned for that tire, which might be true. In NE Ohio, will always use A/S; no way switching to summers and back. Questions:

1. I wouldn't know 9/10th performance handling if it hit me over the head. Closest I've been is 1998 Z28. Would I even notice going with the (much cheaper) Michelin A/S +3s and storing the P7s for now? (Let's take the no-spare-tire issue out of the equation for a moment.)

2. In Ohio, it's usually 87/89/93 octane but might save $$$ finding 91. Any appreciable diff between 91 and 93 for my vehicle?

3. Is there anything you know of different between the '18 and '19 models, besides the extra 50 hp?

Thanks folks. I appreciate your kindness and patience.
Appreciate 0
      09-08-2018, 04:55 AM   #2
morphomeman
Major
Rep
Drives: 2015 M235ix

Garage List
2016 BMW X3  [0.00]
2015 BMW M235ix  [0.00]
You hear bad things about runflats because the people who like them don't complain.