THE LARGEST BMW 2-SERIES FORUM ON THE PLANET
2Addicts
2Addicts
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
2Addicts | BMW 2-Series forum Technical Topics DIY and Coding Discussions Major Coding Problem. Lost Access To Hu_entry

Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      11-26-2014, 03:14 AM   #1
fkacct
Enlisted Member
1
Rep
36
Posts

Drives: 550i M-Sport --> 228i M-Sport
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Los Angeles, CA

iTrader: (0)

Major Coding Problem. Lost Access To Hu_entry

I started coding my 228i tonight and now I've run into a pretty bad problem. I was coding the headunit (HU_ENTRY) with some basic stuff and when the unit reset itself after pressing "CODE FDL," I got a German interface that doesn't seem like it belongs to my car. It has a bang&olufsen menu etc.
Below pictures should explain things a bit. I am now unable to access HU_ENTRY. There is no longer a CAFD with a green marker under the HU_ENTRY label.





Really hope you can help out with this. The only codes I recall messing with are:

3002 Radio_dab
3002 Dab_laendervarianten
3002 dab_standard
3002 following_available
3002 following_dab_fm
3000 EFF_DYN_SPORT_CID
3000 EFF_DYN_SPORT_UNIT

and I also changed the following (but they're under FEMBODY which remains usable):
Fembody 3070 Ambiente_Helligkeit
Fembody 3070 Ambiente_Nachfuehrung

Hoping ShawnSheriden or others can shed some light on this.
Appreciate 0
      11-26-2014, 04:18 PM   #2
Cybertronic
Private First Class
24
Rep
180
Posts

Drives: F80 M3, E30 M3
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Bay Area, CA

iTrader: (0)

There's something wrong (obviously) the diag address of your HU is wrong.
Do you have ISTA/D?
I would unplug your battery for a few minutes, and then reconnect E-SYS to the car, and see if it shows up.
Appreciate 0
      11-26-2014, 04:40 PM   #3
fkacct
Enlisted Member
1
Rep
36
Posts

Drives: 550i M-Sport --> 228i M-Sport
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Los Angeles, CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cybertronic View Post
There's something wrong (obviously) the diag address of your HU is wrong.
Do you have ISTA/D?
I would unplug your battery for a few minutes, and then reconnect E-SYS to the car, and see if it shows up.
I'll give it a try after work. Do you think injecting a CAFD and pressing "CODE" would do any good in case battery pullout doesn't work?

I'm a newbie at this so I actually have no idea what ISTA/D is...
Appreciate 0
      11-26-2014, 05:08 PM   #4
Cybertronic
Private First Class
24
Rep
180
Posts

Drives: F80 M3, E30 M3
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Bay Area, CA

iTrader: (0)

Yeah, try to code the defaults on that module again. Its possible your voltage dipped during the code, and it doesn't have anything on it.
Are you using a charger while you code?
Appreciate 0
      11-26-2014, 05:17 PM   #5
fkacct
Enlisted Member
1
Rep
36
Posts

Drives: 550i M-Sport --> 228i M-Sport
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Los Angeles, CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cybertronic View Post
Yeah, try to code the defaults on that module again. Its possible your voltage dipped during the code, and it doesn't have anything on it.
Are you using a charger while you code?
Cybertronic, I did not use a charger and also noticed that the car was off for
whatever reason after the error came on (or maybe I forgot to keep it running ).

I'm very new to this and trying to gather how to write a new CAFD. Can you confirm that these steps are good:


Connect => Read FA => Activate FA => Read VCM => Left-Click on HU_ENTRY => Click on "Detect CAF for SWE" => Select the CAFD matching your I-Level => Select OK => Right-Click on HU_ENTRY => Select CODE.

How would i determine what my I-Level is?
Appreciate 0
      11-26-2014, 05:48 PM   #6
Cybertronic
Private First Class
24
Rep
180
Posts

Drives: F80 M3, E30 M3
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Bay Area, CA

iTrader: (0)

You don't want to code/program a car while its running.
The IGN should be on (cluster all lit up), but not running.
This is why you must have the car on a charger, or supplemental battery.

You can read the I-Level from E-Sys under VCM in Expert mode.
Click on the Master tab towards the bottom, then click the Read button in I-Steps.
Appreciate 0
      11-27-2014, 03:39 AM   #7
fkacct
Enlisted Member
1
Rep
36
Posts

Drives: 550i M-Sport --> 228i M-Sport
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Los Angeles, CA

iTrader: (0)

Problem Solved. "Detect CAF for SWE" and "CODE" reset the unit back to its original settings.
Appreciate 0
      11-27-2014, 09:28 AM   #8
Delnari
Major
Delnari's Avatar
United_States
218
Rep
1,040
Posts

Drives: 2014 MG F22 Auto
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Alexandria, VA

iTrader: (2)

Nice job on the recovery. Interesting that it was recommended not to code while the car is running as I have done this many times during coding without an issue; thus far.
Appreciate 0
      11-27-2014, 09:48 AM   #9
bman6074
Major
75
Rep
1,254
Posts

Drives: 14 M235i and 07 Lotus Exige S
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Connecticut

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Delnari View Post
Nice job on the recovery. Interesting that it was recommended not to code while the car is running as I have done this many times during coding without an issue; thus far.
+1 I have done 3 different cars this way without any issue.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      11-27-2014, 11:13 AM   #10
pikcachu
Brigadier General
pikcachu's Avatar
943
Rep
4,752
Posts

Drives: M235i (F22 Red angel)
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: undisclosed

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Delnari View Post
Nice job on the recovery. Interesting that it was recommended not to code while the car is running as I have done this many times during coding without an issue; thus far.
it's OK as long you don't code the DME.... you can imagine that coding the engine while the engine is running might not be the best thing to do..
Appreciate 0
      12-01-2014, 08:54 AM   #11
nyeager
Private First Class
United_States
12
Rep
100
Posts

Drives: 2015 M235i xDrive
Join Date: May 2014
Location: PA

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Take it from someone who actually did this exact thing... It's not fun, you get all kind of errors that look really bad like "drivetrain malfunction, fuel-system problem" etc.

Thankfully guys like Shawn and Pickachu are around!

Quote:
Originally Posted by pikcachu View Post
it's OK as long you don't code the DME.... you can imagine that coding the engine while the engine is running might not be the best thing to do..
Appreciate 0
      12-01-2014, 08:30 PM   #12
zipphreak
Captain
No_Country
397
Rep
996
Posts

Drives: m235xi
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: b00ty

iTrader: (2)

What exactly does "Detect CAF for SWE" do? I understand CODE means program defaults, but I'm curious about what that portion of the recovery did.
Appreciate 0
      12-01-2014, 11:00 PM   #13
Cybertronic
Private First Class
24
Rep
180
Posts

Drives: F80 M3, E30 M3
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Bay Area, CA

iTrader: (0)

Detect CAF picks the correct CAF file for that module. (CAF files being the base coding files)
Something you really only need to do if its missing.
Appreciate 0
      01-14-2020, 02:20 PM   #14
MarkyMark1111
New Member
0
Rep
8
Posts

Drives: Bmw 320I
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

Please Help!!

I recently my BMW F30 320I as per https://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/sh...96&postcount=7

This was so to enable bluetooth media. I lost all bluetooth options and DAB. I tried to revert the changes by starting again, but when I got to HU_ENTRY to select code it is now greyed out.

Any and all help would be great appreciated!
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:33 PM.




2addicts
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST