THE LARGEST BMW 2-SERIES FORUM ON THE PLANET
2Addicts
2Addicts
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
2Addicts | BMW 2-Series forum Technical Topics N55 (M235i) Engine, Transmission, Exhaust, Tuning M235i ZF 6MT

09-11-2021, 10:09 AM   #1
714BMW
Private First Class
United_States
Rep
Drives: '16 M235 6MT

M235i ZF 6MT

Hey guys,

I just recently purchased a 2016 M235i 6MT with 18,000 miles. Estoril Blue exterior with Black Dakota Leather fully loaded. So far the car has been amazing and the power upgrade from my 128i is awesome. I'm still relatively new to driving manual as I've only driven in my friends cars before this one, but I noticed the 1-2 shit and 3-2 downshift are pretty difficult. I was doing some research and I'm coming across horror stories of people replacing their entire ZF transmissions because of 1-2 synchros. This is kinda scary since I bought the car as is with no warranty based on people have little issues with the N55 engine until later mileage, didn't even think a BMW 6 speed would have to be worried about. Anyone know if this is a very common issue or if the stories I am coming across are fairly rare? I'd hate to have to drop near 5k to replace a whole transmission when the reason I dropped extra cash was to get one with such low miles.

I appreciate any input.

Thanks.
      09-11-2021, 09:08 PM   #2
jb-slow
First Lieutenant
Rep
Drives: m235i

If it's not making grinding noises it's fine. I don't wanna sound rude but it might be you.
Appreciate 0
      09-12-2021, 03:17 PM   #3
XutvJet
Major General
Rep
Drives: 2011 Cayman Base, 2016 M235

It's very difficult to drive these 6mts smoothly, largely due to the clutch delta valve.

To execute a smoother 1-2 shift rev up to 3500-4000rpms before shifting.

For the 3-2 downshift, quickly stab the throttle to get a good rev match. It takes practice.