THE LARGEST BMW 2-SERIES FORUM ON THE PLANET
2Addicts
2Addicts
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
2Addicts | BMW 2-Series forum BMW 2 Series (F22) Forum BMW 2 Series Coupe and Cabriolet (F22/F23) General Forum M240i xDrive 8AT

01-13-2020, 02:37 PM   #1
damianbmw12
Private
United_States
Rep
Drives: 2020 BMW M240xi & 2004 330Ci

M240i xDrive 8AT

I am new to the M240i xDrive with about 800 miles on the car. I have been starting to push the car harder, but still staying under the manuals recommended 4500 RPMs. One of the things I have been doing is paddle shifting in sport mode. I noticed that when shifting with paddles at ~4500 RPMs and full throttle the shift is very aggressive. How normal is this? If I am easier on the throttle it's not as aggressive or abrubt; same goes for comfort mode.

I have read other posts comparing the ZF 8hp transmission to DCT where there was a bit of discussion on this, but I didn't find any solid information on if this is "normal" or not. I am used to manaul gearboxes and don't have any experience with sport auto transmissions.
Appreciate 0
      01-13-2020, 02:47 PM   #2
BimBimM2
Banned
Rep
Drives: M240xi 'Vert

Quote:
Originally Posted by damianbmw12 View Post
I am new to the M240i xDrive with about 800 miles on the car. I have been starting to push the car harder, but still staying under the manuals recommended 4500 RPMs. One of the things I have been doing is paddle shifting in sport mode. I noticed that when shifting with paddles at ~4500 RPMs and full throttle the shift is very aggressive. How normal is this? If I am easier on the throttle it's not as aggressive or abrubt; same goes for comfort mode.

I have read other posts comparing the ZF 8hp transmission to DCT where there was a bit of discussion on this, but I didn't find any solid information on if this is "normal" or not. I am used to manaul gearboxes and don't have any experience with sport auto transmissions.