THE LARGEST BMW 2-SERIES FORUM ON THE PLANET
2Addicts
2Addicts
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
2Addicts | BMW 2-Series forum Technical Topics Navigation, iDrive, Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Phone, Cameras, Electronics The "Official" F22 OBD2 wireless adapter / Android+Torque / iPhone+DashCommand thread

Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      02-16-2015, 04:21 PM   #67
VMRWheels
General
VMRWheels's Avatar
1704
Rep
25,808
Posts

Drives: BMW
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Anaheim, CA

iTrader: (4)

Garage List
2013 BMW M3  [5.00]
2015 BMW M4  [0.00]
2013 BMW F30  [0.00]
2014 BMW F22  [0.00]
2013 BMW F06  [0.00]
Awesome stuff! Thanks OP and everyone else for the info

Going to try out OBDLink MX WiFi Scan Tool + DashCommand with my iPhone 6
Appreciate 1
      02-16-2015, 05:33 PM   #68
Tag
Brigadier General
Tag's Avatar
United_States
4377
Rep
4,892
Posts

Drives: Bimmer
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Chicago

iTrader: (2)

Can this also be used to read error codes or is it just to show real-time data?
Appreciate 0
      02-16-2015, 06:22 PM   #69
Monoblock
Private
Monoblock's Avatar
46
Rep
86
Posts

Drives: 2015 228i
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: middle of nowhere

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tag View Post
Can this also be used to read error codes or is it just to show real-time data?
It shows error codes, but only the basic/common OBDII codes. Someone above mentioned BMWHAT above - does anyone know if it can peek into more specific BMW codes?
Appreciate 0
      02-17-2015, 01:11 PM   #70
ocN55
Major
ocN55's Avatar
United_States
475
Rep
1,469
Posts

Drives: '15 M235i 6MT/ '16 M3
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: LA

iTrader: (18)

Quote:
Originally Posted by glennQNYC View Post
I still can access cellular data while connected to the OBD reader via Wi-Fi.
That's great to hear, are you android or iOS?

are you using this reader?
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...A1LU5PU5MRS0M3

Last edited by ocN55; 02-17-2015 at 01:37 PM..
Appreciate 0
      02-17-2015, 01:49 PM   #71
FSociety
2020 X3M/X4M Coming Soon
FSociety's Avatar
No_Country
3073
Rep
6,979
Posts

Drives: F90 M5, F80 M3 ZCP
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: NYC NJ CT PA FL

iTrader: (3)

Garage List
+1 for this thread

I use OBDLINK Scantool w/ DashCommand and TorquePro on my Android
Keep my iPhone 6 for Waze and Escort Live reporting , Android for fun
__________________
F90 M5 @bm3tuning/HCP 6.7s | 10.3@133 on 93 | 0-60 2.66s | 0-130: 9.8s
F97 X3MC
17 F80 M3 60-130 6.7s
16 X4 M40i BM3 N55 4.1s 0-60 | 12.4@110mph
Appreciate 0
      02-17-2015, 06:40 PM   #72
glennQNYC
2006 TIME Person Of The Year
glennQNYC's Avatar
United_States
5138
Rep
4,835
Posts

Drives: M Sport 335i
Join Date: May 2013
Location: North Jersey

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2014 335i  [4.87]
Quote:
Originally Posted by ocN55
Quote:
Originally Posted by glennQNYC View Post
I still can access cellular data while connected to the OBD reader via Wi-Fi.
That's great to hear, are you android or iOS?

are you using this reader?
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...A1LU5PU5MRS0M3
iOS 8.1.3 on an iPhone 6. OBDLink MX Wi-Fi scan tool.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      02-18-2015, 09:34 AM   #73
pinoye90
Banned
Philippines
62
Rep
486
Posts

Drives: 07-E90
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: PHX

iTrader: (0)

So what is the best option for ob2wifi reader with Bmwhat app? Aside from wxi
Appreciate 0
      02-19-2015, 12:46 AM   #74
pen15ofgoldd
nikosify
6
Rep
58
Posts

Drives: 335i
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: bakersfield / LA

iTrader: (0)

ieGeek wifi works for my 5s. I don't think i can use data when I'm connected to it though.
Appreciate 0
      02-19-2015, 12:49 AM   #75
pen15ofgoldd
nikosify
6
Rep
58
Posts

Drives: 335i
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: bakersfield / LA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by LMT0286 View Post
Do they make a wifi one thst works on a 2011?ln if so does anyone no who makes it
Iegeek does, you can buy it on amazon for $20 or something like that
Appreciate 0
      02-19-2015, 03:06 AM   #76
coolmex200
Second Lieutenant
Germany
106
Rep
213
Posts

Drives: F80 M3, 2016 X5 35i, F25d
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: DE

iTrader: (0)

How accurate are the reading you get for torque and HP with the wireless adapter OBD2 and dashcommand?
I measured my 335 and read 314 HP while doing a 0-60 with 0 mods on it.
Thanks!
Appreciate 0
      02-19-2015, 03:41 PM   #77
Tag
Brigadier General
Tag's Avatar
United_States
4377
Rep
4,892
Posts

Drives: Bimmer
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Chicago

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by pen15ofgoldd View Post
ieGeek wifi works for my 5s. I don't think i can use data when I'm connected to it though.
That's the iPhone's networking which is by design. It will prefer to use WiFi over cellular data when connected to WiFi. Since this is an ad-hoc WiFi network that does not route out to the Internet it simply fails. Really wish Apple would change it so that after a timeout it redirects to cellular data but that's just wishful thinking.
Appreciate 0
      02-19-2015, 04:01 PM   #78
scottomfg
First Lieutenant
scottomfg's Avatar
97
Rep
318
Posts

Drives: '14 Cayman S 6MT, '18 340 GT
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Oregon

iTrader: (0)

My data works fine through cellular when connected to my WiFi dongle. All recent iPhones running the current version of iOS should work like this. When the phone doesn't detect a connection to the internet via the WiFi connection, it automatically switches to cellular data.

Update: I don't think I had to do anything on my set-up to make this work, but in case yours doesn't work by default, here is a tip: http://forums.macrumors.com/showthre...2#post20644952
__________________

2014 981 Cayman S 6MT, X73 Suspension, SES
2018 340 GT, M-Sport, Estoril/Cognac, Adaptive Susp, Everything Else
Previous: 2015 M235i 6MT, 2015 i3 REx Ionic Giga, 2015 x1 xDrive28i

Last edited by scottomfg; 02-19-2015 at 04:22 PM.. Reason: added tip
Appreciate 0
      02-19-2015, 04:55 PM   #79
ah3
Private
12
Rep
70
Posts

Drives: 435GC
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: SF Bay Area

iTrader: (0)

does the iegeek one for iOS use a password? Thinking about canceling my order if it doesn't use a password, thanks!
Appreciate 0
      02-19-2015, 10:42 PM   #80
BMWintoxication
Enlisted Member
BMWintoxication's Avatar
14
Rep
36
Posts

Drives: M54
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Shanghai

iTrader: (0)

subscribed.
Appreciate 0
      02-20-2015, 09:28 AM   #81
glennQNYC
2006 TIME Person Of The Year
glennQNYC's Avatar
United_States
5138
Rep
4,835
Posts

Drives: M Sport 335i
Join Date: May 2013
Location: North Jersey

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2014 335i  [4.87]
Cold air charge!
Attached Images
 
__________________
Appreciate 0
      02-20-2015, 03:55 PM   #82
robertg
First Lieutenant
78
Rep
359
Posts

Drives: 2015 F80 M3
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Maryland

iTrader: (0)

Couldn't get ieGeek to register in my F80 M3.

Red light stayed solid. But it does work in my 04 Escalade.

Any advice?
Appreciate 0
      02-20-2015, 05:22 PM   #83
Tag
Brigadier General
Tag's Avatar
United_States
4377
Rep
4,892
Posts

Drives: Bimmer
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Chicago

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by robertg View Post
Couldn't get ieGeek to register in my F80 M3.

Red light stayed solid. But it does work in my 04 Escalade.

Any advice?
Appreciate 0
      02-20-2015, 06:24 PM   #84
robertg
First Lieutenant
78
Rep
359
Posts

Drives: 2015 F80 M3
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Maryland

iTrader: (0)

So I am guessing that there are no ELM devices for 2010 and newer autos?
Appreciate 0
      02-25-2015, 03:42 PM   #85
pen15ofgoldd
nikosify
6
Rep
58
Posts

Drives: 335i
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: bakersfield / LA

iTrader: (0)

the iegeek works on my 2011 so it does work beyond 2010 models
Appreciate 0
      02-27-2015, 09:53 AM   #86
ocN55
Major
ocN55's Avatar
United_States
475
Rep
1,469
Posts

Drives: '15 M235i 6MT/ '16 M3
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: LA

iTrader: (18)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tag View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by robertg View Post
So I am guessing that there are no ELM devices for 2010 and newer autos?
i believe op mentioned that iGeek is known to work on the F22s, so its clearly not just for models up to 2010
Appreciate 0
      03-01-2015, 06:51 AM   #87
Gizzy's_M235i
Private First Class
United_States
11
Rep
182
Posts

Drives: X1
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: NY

iTrader: (3)

I use WIFI to mirror my phone to my I drive screen. Since I'm pretty sure we can't connect to two wifi networks at once I think I'm going to need the Bluetooth IOS option. Is anyone else doing this?
Appreciate 0
      03-03-2015, 02:26 PM   #88
SDKevin
Cone Killer
United_States
29
Rep
132
Posts

Drives: M235i
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: San Diego

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by wjones14 View Post
Agree that this is a concern. The OBDLink MX WiFi unit does have WPA2 AES security. This unit costs > $100, compared to other adapters that cost < $20, but the security and sleep features may make it worth the cost.
What do you guys think someone malicious could even do to your car if they 'hacked' the Bluetooth???
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:02 PM.




2addicts
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST