THE LARGEST BMW 2-SERIES FORUM ON THE PLANET
2Addicts
2Addicts
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts
2Addicts | BMW 2-Series forum BMW 2 Series (F22) Forum BMW 2 Series Coupe and Cabriolet (F22/F23) General Forum XDrive Question

10-11-2023, 06:16 PM   #1
lostlife656
Enlisted Member
Rep
Drives: 2015 M235i xdrive

Question XDrive Question

I might be getting a 2015 m235i xdrive but I have never looked into the system. Is it reliable? Is there extra maintenance I would need to do? Do they have an lsd? Im an awd noob if you couldnt tell lol. Any info is appreciated.
Appreciate 0
      10-11-2023, 06:50 PM   #2
jzeiler4
Lieutenant
United_States
Rep
Drives: 2021 M240i xDrive vert

It is a lot more moving parts that a RWD car, but you don't need an LSD as it is very hard to spin a tire with four wheels being driven. It is also a lot of added weight with the transfer case, extra differential, CV joints and drive shaft.

Having said that, I ordered mine with xDrive and love the way it handles.
Appreciate 0
      10-11-2023, 07:35 PM   #3
celsdogg
E4 Mafia
Rep
Drives: E30, E36/5, E46x2, F22, F30

It's a pita to service. No drain plugs.
Appreciate 0
      10-11-2023, 07:52 PM   #4
lostlife656
Enlisted Member
Rep

Quote:
Originally Posted by jzeiler4 View Post
It is a lot more moving parts that a RWD car, but you don't need an LSD as it is very hard to spin a tire with four wheels being driven. It is also a lot of added weight with the transfer case, extra differential, CV joints and drive shaft.

Having said that, I ordered mine with xDrive and love the way it handles.
Have you had any issues with the xdrive?
Appreciate 0
      10-11-2023, 08:17 PM   #5
leftoverture
Captain
United_States
Rep
Drives: 2016 BMW 228i

X-drive is very reliable and performs well. It does add some weight, but the extra traction is worth it to me. I drive mine in winter conditions and don't even worry about having the traction I need.
Appreciate 0
      10-11-2023, 08:52 PM   #6
jzeiler4