THE LARGEST BMW 2-SERIES FORUM ON THE PLANET
2Addicts
2Addicts
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
2Addicts | BMW 2-Series forum Technical Topics Wheels and Tires -- Sponsored by The Tire Rack Best Track Tires for M235i

06-18-2018, 02:12 PM   #1
Joe731
Rep
Drives: 2003 996TT

Best Track Tires for M235i

I would like to track my M235i, and want the best track tires possible. My normal track car is a Porsche GT3RS and I run Hoosier R7s and like them a lot. The M235 is my backup track car and will likely see 5-8 track days/year. I have over 100 track days in total and am a national PCA instructor, so I have some experience and am completely comfortable with R compound tires.

Since sizes are so much smaller on the BMW, grip is more important than cost to me, so I am looking at a few options as follows in order of preference.

In any case, I would trailer the car to the track, so streetability is not a factor, and I would likely set camber at 2.5 up front zero toe and 2.25 rear at 1/16 in each side.

1.) Buy TR C4 17*8 with a 40mm offset wheels and mount Hoosier R7s in 245/40/17 square. Highest grip, highest cost, unknown chance of rubbing/fitment issues. Anyone running these?

2.) Use existing snow tire wheels 17*7.5 and run Hoosier R7s in 225/45/17 square (obviously less grip), would need to mount/dismount snows 1X per season

3.) Use my existing BMW 18" staggered wheels and run Hankook Ventus Z214s at 225/40/18 and 245/35/18 (same size tires as stock). The thing I like about this option is it seems to minimize the likelihood of rubbing, but it's not square, so there will be more understeer, I would also need to dismount my street tires and swap these in every time I track the car, and I have no experience with the Z214s

Looking for some informed opinions ... Thanks in advance
Appreciate 0
      06-18-2018, 05:20 PM   #2
dradernh
Brigadier General
Rep
Drives: 2017 M240i

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe731 View Post