THE LARGEST BMW 2-SERIES FORUM ON THE PLANET
2Addicts
2Addicts
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts
2Addicts | BMW 2-Series forum BMW 2 Series (F22) Forum BMW 2 Series Coupe and Cabriolet (F22/F23) General Forum 228i M Sport ZTR Track Impressions from an Instructor

10-27-2015, 02:26 PM   #1
DarkstarZero
Lieutenant Colonel
United_States
Rep
Drives: Daytona 95 M3, X7 M50, e92 M3,

228i M Sport ZTR Track Impressions from an Instructor

I am a track instructor with the BMW CCA and recently took my 228 daily driver to the track to see what it could do.

The Car: The 228 is a M Sport with the ZTR Package. This particular option setup gives the car the same suspension, brakes, and aero package as a M235, as well as deletes the fog lights and replaces them with auxiliary radiators for added cooling under track conditions.

The car does not have the Premium Package which would have added a lot of weight. The no-premium-package option is exceptional in the 2-series. All of the same adjustments exist but are manual instead of motorized. The seats are still 8-way adjustable with lots of levers. They even still have the side bolster adjustment to hold you in the seat while on track. The new faux leather feels and looks just like the standard leather except it'll last longer and won't require maintenance. Everyone thinks it's real leather. The sunroof is not missed in a small car like this and keeps the center of gravity low - which is the same reason it's not included with the M2. And even without the premium package you still get the standards like auto-rain-sensing wipers, ect.

The car is stock with stock Michelin Pilot SuperSport Street tires. It does, however, have the basic GSR ECU tune and replacement street front pads.

Specs:
2015 228i M Sport
ZTR (Track Package)
6MT (Manual)
ZTP (Tech Package)
ZLP (Lighting Package)
ZCW (Cold Weather Package)

Track: Summit Point Shenandoah Circuit