THE LARGEST BMW 2-SERIES FORUM ON THE PLANET
2Addicts
2Addicts
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
2Addicts | BMW 2-Series forum Technical Topics Wheels and Tires -- Sponsored by The Tire Rack Tire recommendations M235i??

02-15-2020, 04:18 PM   #1
abcfgh
Private
Rep
Drives: BMW 328i

Tire recommendations M235i??

I have little experience with tires and looking for recommendations for my 2015 BMW M235i with staggered stock rims.. Unlikely to see track use, but will see aggressive street use and many commuter miles.

Stock tire sizes:

- 225/40R18 (7.5" front rim)

- 245/35R18 (8.0" rear rim)

Michelin PS4S vs. A/S 3+? Ultra High Performance All Seasons vs Summer Tires? Anything else worth checking out?

Wear worth trade-off in grip? Will I regret A/S tires with 305+ wheel horsepower and tiny stock tires? Otherwise, I'm pretty sure cornering grip will be just fine as I'm used to far less sporty tires on previous cars. Thanks in advance!
Appreciate 0
      02-15-2020, 04:35 PM   #2
overcoil
Major General
Rep
Drives: M235i 6spd

the AS 3+ is a great tire on the M235, handles the power fine.

I do like a summer tire though - but in ice or snow it can get tricky and cause an accident.

Ive gone through about 15 Michelin tires on my 235 and have never had a balance or tire quality issue.

Just for conversation, and realizing I've got no driving talent, I found the original Michelin Pilot Super Sport the car came with was the most enjoyable tire when compared to MS3+ and PS4S. The MPSS was also the sketchiest on very cold road surfaces.

Last edited by overcoil; 02-16-2020 at 10:06 AM..
Appreciate 0
      02-15-2020, 04:58 PM   #3
abcfgh
Private
Rep

I should have mentioned I'm in SoCal so it will never see ice and highly doubt any snow either except for the rare ski trip.