THE LARGEST BMW 2-SERIES FORUM ON THE PLANET
2Addicts
2Addicts
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
2Addicts | BMW 2-Series forum Technical Topics DIY and Coding Discussions $4400 quote from mechanic for new ECU and ISM. Can I repair myself?

Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      07-17-2023, 04:34 PM   #1
Rick24wag
Love my M235i
Rick24wag's Avatar
2
Rep
8
Posts

Drives: Bmw m235i
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Portland, Or

iTrader: (0)

$4400 quote from mechanic for new ECU and ISM. Can I repair myself?

Hello, my m235i wouldn't start so i took it in and they say i need a new ECU and a ISM. They are quoting me $4400. I have done car work in the past and feel comfortable doing this type of work but I haven't reprogramed my BMW before so I was wondering if this is something I could attempt or is it better to just let them do it? Looks like the ECU costs around 2k and the ISM is about $200 so labor is going to be about half of this cost. I've seen a couple youtubes on this topic and it doesn't look that bad but I was hoping to get better info from someone with more experience. I don't mind paying the cost if the quote is accurate and the job is out of my league but in these situations i really like to do them myself especially if it means I can buy the tools i need for the job and I still save money compared to what I would have paid the mechanic. Thanks a bunch, rick
Appreciate 0
      07-18-2023, 09:34 AM   #2
MarcoZandrini
Major
United_States
433
Rep
1,227
Posts

Drives: 2018 M240i
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Virginia

iTrader: (0)

I'd try another shop. Try www.bimrs.org to find a reputable indie shop the specializes in bimmers in your area.
Appreciate 0
      07-26-2023, 01:19 AM   #3
Vid714
Enlisted Member
Vid714's Avatar
United_States
5
Rep
37
Posts

Drives: F22 m240i
Join Date: Jun 2020
Location: California

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2017 BMW m240i  [9.00]
Itís not too hard to replace both of those control units the only issue that u will have is that the vehicle will need to be programmed and encoded since new control units are being installed and for that u need ISTA.
Appreciate 0
      07-27-2023, 07:44 AM   #4
TheNine90
Banned
560
Rep
2,048
Posts

Drives: bmw
Join Date: Aug 2021
Location: Workshop

iTrader: (0)

The ISM maybe done easily and you can do it yourself, the DME needs to be matched and this requires special tools.
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:09 AM.




2addicts
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST