THE LARGEST BMW 2-SERIES FORUM ON THE PLANET
2Addicts
2Addicts
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts
2Addicts | BMW 2-Series forum BMW 2 Series (F22) Forum BMW 2 Series Coupe and Cabriolet (F22/F23) General Forum Should I get a 2 Series BMW? Please help...

10-14-2018, 03:57 PM   #1
Wanna Beamer
Rep
Drives: iWannaMcar

Should I get a 2 Series BMW? Please help...

Hello,

Newbie here and wanted to ask your opinion on whether I should buy a BMW or not. I'm looking at the M235/240 specifically, either a 2016 or 2017. However, I've heard from previous BMW owners AND mechanics who say they are NOT very reliable especially when they reach the end of the basic warranty period. The mechanic states he sees a lot of turbo issues/replacements and other mechanical problems with theses "lower end" models. Don't get me wrong every car has problems that pop up from time to time but from what I've been hearing these 2 Series models are "junk" and made with cheap parts that break easily. I LOVE the look of the M235 and 240's but I'm SERIOUSLY reconsidering my move to buy one after what Ive heard. I plan on keeping my next car for at least 10 yrs., and I only drive about 8K/yr. I just don't want to have to visit the svc. dept. often even under the warranty period. SO is it true that these 2 series have seen their fair share of issues? Would YOU buy another one? Or is it just a hit or miss kinda philosophy? The general consensus is that German made cars are far less reliable than their Japanese counterpart. I thought I'd ask real owners of this brand and series what THEY think. They're very reliable in performance BUT are they as reliable in build/mechanical wise? too? DO you sacrifice one for the other? Is "German engineering" just a myth? Please help me decide. Even though VW is German made too, their new 6yr./72K basic warranty is hard to look past. (I've also been eyeing the Golf R) Thanks!

Last edited by Wanna Beamer; 10-14-2018 at 04:24 PM..
Appreciate 0