THE LARGEST BMW 2-SERIES FORUM ON THE PLANET
2Addicts
2Addicts
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts
2Addicts | BMW 2-Series forum Technical Topics N55 (M235i) Engine, Transmission, Exhaust, Tuning Is an intake worth it?

08-19-2023, 03:10 PM   #1
Guitarkid
Enlisted Member
United_States
Rep
Drives: Saab 9-3 Aero, BMW 325xi

Is an intake worth it?

Bought a 2016 m235i x drive recently with a 5 year or 60k mile warranty. It has a Remus cat back and is lowered on dinan springs but stock otherwise. And the plastic charge pipe has been upgraded to metal already, saving me a job. I’m new to bmw and I know tuning will probably void the warranty. I do want more power eventually and more turbo noises would be nice. I’m looking at the dinan cold air intake but it seems a bit high in price for what you get, plus I get the impression it’ll throw a check engine light. I came from a WRX with typical mods which needed to be tuned for literally anything under the hood lol. So is getting an intake worth it?
      08-20-2023, 03:03 PM   #2
jb-slow
First Lieutenant
Rep
Drives: m235i

I have the same intake, you won't hear it. Intakes on these cars don't really make any power, putting a good filter in the factory airbox is all you need. You could throw the m2 airbox lower half in there if you want some noise, still won't hear much from it though.
Appreciate 0
      08-20-2023, 03:39 PM   #3
mike@x-ph.com
Joint Chiefs of Staff
United_States
Rep
Drives: 07-335/12-328/18-M4/21-M4CP

An intake will get you more power and turbo noise, with the Dinan you are paying for the carbon fiber. If that's a goal, then you can skip this intake for a less expensive non-carbon intake.

Lots of good options, like MAD, CTS, Injen, BMS

Phone number 702-494-9435
Appreciate 0
      08-20-2023, 03:44 PM   #4
Info@mad-us.com
Brigadier General
Rep
Drives: bmw

Check out our intake! You will definitely be able to hear it and for the price you won't be disappointed.