THE LARGEST BMW 2-SERIES FORUM ON THE PLANET
2Addicts
2Addicts
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts
2Addicts | BMW 2-Series forum Technical Topics N55 (M235i) Engine, Transmission, Exhaust, Tuning M235i N55 New Owner

08-03-2023, 04:13 AM   #1
JimM235i
Rep
Drives: BMW M235i

M235i N55 New Owner

At the beginning I want to say hello to the BMW community.
I am New to the platform. I have never been driving any BMW before.
I was wondering to buy one and finally the time has come. I have bought M235i 2015. Car has around 130k miles on the clock. I am absolutely in love with this car. Already tuned, crazy fast car. The only thing is, that after I bought it, started to investigate common problems of N55 and a lot of people says, that conrod bearings are the biggest problem. I found my local community, group of people and I asked them about that thing. Some of them told me, that bearings are not a problem, oroblem is luboil system. Some told me, that we have to change bearings every 60-100k miles because they are just poor. Some say, there is no problem with it at all. I know that my car is high milege car and now I am wondering if I should change them, look at them or leave it like it is? The problem is, that I am an engineer and I always say to lower rank mates ‚do not fix it, if it is not broken’. So the biggest problem is, that I am worrying - if there is no problem so far, or we dont know, I dont want to make more problems. I coud not find a lot M235i cases with spun bearings, but N55s platform seems to have quite a lot of them. Try to understand me guys, I have been looking for perfect car for me, I found perfect setup. Just drove it for 2k miles and I dont want to lost the engine. And there is so many different information on Google, so I am more stupid, than before I bought the car. Thanks in advance.
Appreciate 0
      08-03-2023, 09:43 AM   #2
mike@x-ph.com
Joint Chiefs of Staff
United_States
Rep
Drives: 07-335/12-328/18-M4/21-M4CP