THE LARGEST BMW 2-SERIES FORUM ON THE PLANET
2Addicts
2Addicts
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts
2Addicts | BMW 2-Series forum Technical Topics N55 (M235i) Engine, Transmission, Exhaust, Tuning On FBO with JB4. What's next: BMS meth kit or ECU tune?

12-25-2017, 10:51 PM   #1
KAY-OS
Second Lieutenant
Rep
Drives: BMW m235i F22

On FBO with JB4. What's next: BMS meth kit or ECU tune?

Hi guys. My car is 2014 M235i, FBO (CAI, ER CP, forge BOV, wagner FMIC, catless DP, exhaust) with JB4 + EWG connector. I am limited to running Map 1 or Map 5 due to less than ideal gas here. However, I tried Map 2 and I'm hooked. With the news of F series N55 DME being cracked and thus being able to flash the ECU from the OBDii, I am at a crossroad. BMS meth kit or ECU flash (when the OBDii tuning is more mature) or both?? Some questions (note: I am a newbie in ECU tune and meth, so please bear with me):

1) Which will make more power better: BMS meth kit or ECU flash?

2) If I decide on ECU flash first but I want more power later on, can I use the meth kit with the ECU flashed? Do I need to re-flash the ECU again with a map which is tailored to the meth? Or can the JB4 control the meth which can be integrated with the flashed ECU?

3) For those using BMS meth kits, what size tank are you using and where did you install it? Pics appreciated. I have seen a thread here where the user placed a 1 gallon tank at the small trunk compartment. (http://www.2addicts.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1368013). Can the 2 gallon low profile tank be installed there? I need to have some luggage space in the trunk, so the small trunk compartment is my best bet for installation.

Any help is appreciated.

Thanks!
Appreciate 0
      12-26-2017, 07:32 AM   #2
jmwilson125
Major
United_States
Rep
Drives: 2016 M235i

Quote:
Originally Posted by KAY-OS View Post