THE LARGEST BMW 2-SERIES FORUM ON THE PLANET
2Addicts
2Addicts
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts
2Addicts | BMW 2-Series forum BMW 2 Series (F22) Forum BMW 2 Series Coupe and Cabriolet (F22/F23) General Forum test drive disappointment

02-13-2017, 11:35 AM   #1
stewie
Private First Class
Rep
Drives: E90 335i

test drive disappointment

Hi all,
First - background. I'm on my second 335 sedan, MT, which is all I've been driving for the past 10 years. Lease is up soon and so I'm test driving options.

Need AWD, and so an MT M240i is unfortunately not an option for me (as awesome as that would be). So I took the car out for a spin recently and was surprised at how long the AT took to downshift on hard acceleration from slow speed. Now acceleration from a stop was awesome, but if I was coasting at a lower speed and put my foot down, the car took a second or so to respond.

So I made sure it was in Sport, not Comfort, because I thought that might have something to do with it. Nope, same hesitation. Almost like the car was not totally sure what I wanted to do when I put my foot down.

So I was a bit discouraged, because everything else about the car is pretty sweet. I like the speed in the nice small package. But this transmission leaves me wanting (yes, I know I can use the paddles, but that's not the point).

The question I have for the group of experienced owners here is whether this is a noticeable issue with this car, or whether it eventually corrects itself as the car "learns" that you're an aggressive driver. Or is it just a function of turbo lag?? Which would be surprising, since I've not experienced this with either of my turbo'd BMWs to date.

Any thoughts from the group here would be appreciated.
Danke!
Appreciate 0
      02-13-2017, 11:45 AM   #2
Dylan86
Colonel
Canada
Rep
Drives: F15d msport, F22 m235i