THE LARGEST BMW 2-SERIES FORUM ON THE PLANET
2Addicts
2Addicts
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts
2Addicts | BMW 2-Series forum Technical Topics N55 (M235i) Engine, Transmission, Exhaust, Tuning Spanking new (to me) 2015 m235i help

08-13-2021, 01:37 PM   #1
TheArchivist
Rep
Drives: M235i

Spanking new (to me) 2015 m235i help

Hey guys, the title tells the tale, I'm a new owner of a 15 m235i. I'm pretty new to BMW's in general but not to cars as a whole, though most of my experience is with older American muscle. I had a couple questions for you guys and I was hoping you could help me out.

I know the car has some upgrades already like a Dinan intake, a Dinan tuner that was removed, possibly another intercooler (but honestly I have to do more research on that one), and a charge pipe that I believe might be from VRSF. Still looks like it has the stock downpipe and exhaust, but I haven't put it on the lift yet. I might do that this weekend when I change the oil.

One question for which I found contradictory answers while searching was about the intake filter. Can the round blue filter be cleaned, say with a K&N cleaner, or should I just replace it? a 100$ air filter change seems excessive but I couldn't find much on this, or either I was looking in the wrong place. I don't mind cleaning it, but just don't want to make my maf sensor mad or ruin the filter. Couldn't find much info on the Dinan website, but maybe I missed it somehow.

Second, I found a generic pdf for the things that people should look for when maintaining their vehicle for life but I'm wondering if there are any more tips I should be aware of going forward that is particular to this car or type of car? I'll probably change the plugs as well this weekend but with it pushing 90k miles, should I be on the lookout for anything else?